Skip to content
inetGeek

Storj vs Cloudflare R2

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Storj and Cloudflare R2 built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 19 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Storj if…

Workloads that want data spread across many independent locations rather than one provider's region, at a storage rate close to the cheapest here.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Cloudflare R2 if…

Serving files to the public, where egress is the bill everyone underestimates. Nothing to pay for bandwidth out, on any storage class, so a busy bucket costs what it costs to store rather than what it costs to read.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Storj: Egress is charged at the same $7 per TB as storage, so a read-heavy workload costs roughly double what the storage line suggests — the three free-egress providers here charge nothing for it.
  • Cloudflare R2: Operations are charged and rounded up to the whole million, so a workload of many tiny reads and writes pays here instead. The saving is on bandwidth, not on request volume.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Storj alternatives · Cloudflare R2 alternatives

5 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionStorjCloudflare R2
Pricing
Kind of free offerFree trialFree tier
What the free plan includes30 days free with no credit card, including two Object Mount licences. The monthly minimum fee is waived for the duration of the trial.10 GB-month of standard storage, 1 million Class A and 10 million Class B operations a month, and egress free with no cap. The allowance covers standard storage only, not infrequent access.
Egress over allowance$7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.Free. Cloudflare charges nothing for egress to the internet on any storage class; Infrequent Access adds a $0.01/GB retrieval fee instead.
Storage
Storage price
$7 per TB per month, which is $0.007 per GB. A $5 monthly minimum applies to Standard and Advanced accounts.
$0.015 per GB-month for Standard, $0.01 for Infrequent Access. Billed rounded up to the whole GB-month.
Operations priceSegment fees have been eliminated across all new tiers. They still apply to accounts on legacy plans.$4.50 per million Class A operations (writes and listings) and $0.36 per million Class B (reads) on Standard; $9.00 and $0.90 on Infrequent Access. Rounded up to the whole million.
S3-compatible APISupportedSupported

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Storj
Free trial
Cloudflare R2
Free tier
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

Storj
30 days free with no credit card, including two Object Mount licences. The monthly minimum fee is waived for the duration of the trial.
Cloudflare R2
10 GB-month of standard storage, 1 million Class A and 10 million Class B operations a month, and egress free with no cap. The allowance covers standard storage only, not infrequent access.
Sources (2) →
  • Storj Pricing ↗

    “Free for 30 days Works with S3-compatible apps No credit card required 2 free Object Mount licenses [...] The minimum fee does not apply during the free trial period.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • R2 Pricing — Cloudflare ↗

    “Free storage 10 GB-month / month Class A operations 1 million requests / month Class B operations 10 million requests / month Egress (data transfer to Internet) Free”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Egress over allowance

Storj
$7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.
Cloudflare R2
Free. Cloudflare charges nothing for egress to the internet on any storage class; Infrequent Access adds a $0.01/GB retrieval fee instead.
Sources (2) →

Storage price

Storj
$7 per TB per month, which is $0.007 per GB. A $5 monthly minimum applies to Standard and Advanced accounts.
Cloudflare R2
$0.015 per GB-month for Standard, $0.01 for Infrequent Access. Billed rounded up to the whole GB-month.
Sources (2) →

Operations price

Storj
Segment fees have been eliminated across all new tiers. They still apply to accounts on legacy plans.
Cloudflare R2
$4.50 per million Class A operations (writes and listings) and $0.36 per million Class B (reads) on Standard; $9.00 and $0.90 on Infrequent Access. Rounded up to the whole million.
Sources (2) →
  • Storj Pricing ↗

    “Segment fees have been eliminated across all new tiers. Segment fees still apply for users on legacy plans”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • R2 pricing — Cloudflare Docs ↗

    “Class A Operations $4.50 / million requests $9.00 / million requests Class B Operations $0.36 / million requests $0.90 / million requests [...] If you have performed one million and one operations, you will be billed for two million operations.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official pricing · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Free tierCloudflare R2: Yes
Credit card to startStorj: No
When the free offer endsStorj: 30 days.
Storage (entry plan)Cloudflare R2: 10 GB-month free each month, plus 1 million Class A and 10 million Class B operations
RegionsStorj: Distributed across tens of thousands of storage locations globally rather than named regions; a US-only option runs on SOC 2 type 2 compliant data centres.
Uptime SLACloudflare R2: 99.9% monthly uptime, in a dedicated R2 SLA that applies to use of R2 only and names no plan tier. The SLA settles its own precedence — "in the event of a conflict between the terms of this R2 SLA and ... other agreement governing Customer’s use of the Services, the terms of this R2 SLA apply" — so Cloudflare’s application-services plan table, which covers the website plans rather than the Developer Platform, does not qualify it. The remedy is a credit set as a percentage of the fees paid for that product in the preceding 30 days, so the commitment stands on a free account while the compensation for breaching it is worth nothing there.
Minimum storage durationCloudflare R2: None on Standard storage — billing averages peak storage per day, so an object deleted after five days is charged for five days. Infrequent Access carries a 30-day minimum, billed even if the object is deleted, moved or replaced sooner.
Support on entry paid planStorj: Support hours are 9am to 8pm Eastern on business days for Severity Level 1 errors, and 9am to 5pm Eastern for everything else. Committed in the terms of service rather than sold as a tier.
Response time commitmentStorj: For a Severity Level 1 error: acknowledgement within one business day, updates every eight hours, and resolution no later than three days. No uptime percentage is published anywhere in the terms.
SOC 2Storj: Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.Cloudflare R2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare R2.
HIPAAStorj: HIPAA compliant cloud storage.Cloudflare R2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare R2.
GDPR / data residencyStorj: Beyond SOC2, Storj also meets the critical requirements of GDPR, HIPAA, CJIS and MPA regulations for object storage compliance.Cloudflare R2: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Cloudflare R2.
Encryption at restCloudflare R2: All objects and metadata encrypted at rest with AES-256-GCM automatically, no configuration required.Storj: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about Storj.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Egress over allowance: Storj or Cloudflare R2?

Storj: $7 per TB, the same rate as storage — reduced from $20 per TB on the Standard tier. Storj charges for egress where R2, Wasabi and Tigris do not, but at a tenth of what S3 charges.

Cloudflare R2: Free. Cloudflare charges nothing for egress to the internet on any storage class; Infrequent Access adds a $0.01/GB retrieval fee instead.

Should I choose Storj or Cloudflare R2?

Pick Storj if Workloads that want data spread across many independent locations rather than one provider's region, at a storage rate close to the cheapest here.

Pick Cloudflare R2 if Serving files to the public, where egress is the bill everyone underestimates. Nothing to pay for bandwidth out, on any storage class, so a busy bucket costs what it costs to store rather than what it costs to read.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.