Skip to content
inetGeek

Traks vs GoatCounter

OCT 2026 audit

A comparison of Traks and GoatCounter built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 11 criteria compared

The short answer

Choose Traks if…

A Cloudflare user who wants to own the whole stack. The software is free and MIT-licensed, deploys into your own account, keeps events in your own bucket and runs on Cloudflare’s $5-a-month Workers plan, with an MCP server for coding agents.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose GoatCounter if…

A personal site or a small business that wants real analytics and no bill. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage, the script is around 3.5 KB, and there is a JavaScript-free tracking-pixel option.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Traks: You want someone else to run it. There is no hosted service: you deploy and update it yourself in your own Cloudflare account, and the page states no data-retention period.
  • GoatCounter: The traffic is serious or the dependency is. There is no paid tier to escalate to and no commitment behind the hosted service — GoatCounter's own answer to heavy use is to self-host, which is a different job from paying someone.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Traks alternatives · GoatCounter alternatives

3 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionTraksGoatCounter
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
What the free plan includesThe whole product, with no plan tiers or caps from Traks. The only cost is the Cloudflare account it runs in: the page's estimator shows $5/month at 100K events and says 10M Worker requests a month are included before $0.30 per million.Reasonable public usage, defined by example rather than by number: a personal site or a small-to-medium business is fine, millions of pageviews a day is not.
Entry paid planNone to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events.None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.
Limits
Sites or apps includedNot stated as a number. The page describes multi-site support, with sites grouped into workspaces, and shows no site limit.Not stated as a number. The hosted service is bounded by what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage rather than by a site count, and the self-hosted app has no such limit at all.
Observability
Self-hostableSupportedSupported
Compliance
Works without cookiesSupportedSupported

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Traks
The whole product, with no plan tiers or caps from Traks. The only cost is the Cloudflare account it runs in: the page's estimator shows $5/month at 100K events and says 10M Worker requests a month are included before $0.30 per million.
GoatCounter
Reasonable public usage, defined by example rather than by number: a personal site or a small-to-medium business is fine, millions of pageviews a day is not.
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Traks
None to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events.
GoatCounter
None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.
Sources (2) →

Sites or apps included

Traks
Not stated as a number. The page describes multi-site support, with sites grouped into workspaces, and shows no site limit.
GoatCounter
Not stated as a number. The hosted service is bounded by what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage rather than by a site count, and the self-hosted app has no such limit at all.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Kind of free offerTraks: Always free
Pricing modelTraks: No subscription. Traks runs in the buyer's own Cloudflare account, so the bill is Cloudflare's usage pricing: a $5/month Workers Paid plan plus metered Worker, Durable Object, Pipelines and R2 usage past the included amounts. The page counts a pageview as about two events.
Revenue attribution from a payment providerTraks: Limited — Value sent on a custom event; no payment-provider connection
AI and search crawler trackingGoatCounter: Not supported
GDPR / data residencyTraks: Self-hosted: events are stored in the buyer's own Cloudflare account and bucket rather than on Traks's servers. The page describes the platform as GDPR, ePrivacy and PECR compliant by design.GoatCounter: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about GoatCounter.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Traks or GoatCounter?

Traks: None to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events.

GoatCounter: None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.

Should I choose Traks or GoatCounter?

Pick Traks if A Cloudflare user who wants to own the whole stack. The software is free and MIT-licensed, deploys into your own account, keeps events in your own bucket and runs on Cloudflare’s $5-a-month Workers plan, with an MCP server for coding agents.

Pick GoatCounter if A personal site or a small business that wants real analytics and no bill. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage, the script is around 3.5 KB, and there is a JavaScript-free tracking-pixel option.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.