Skip to content
inetGeek

Umami vs Traks

OCT 2026 audit

A comparison of Umami and Traks built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 12 criteria compared

The short answer

Choose Umami if…

A site that wants open-source analytics it can self-host for free or buy as a managed service. Pro is $20 a month for up to 20 websites and two years of data, and the free Hobby plan covers one website and 100K events a month.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Traks if…

A Cloudflare user who wants to own the whole stack. The software is free and MIT-licensed, deploys into your own account, keeps events in your own bucket and runs on Cloudflare’s $5-a-month Workers plan, with an MCP server for coding agents.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Umami: You think in pageviews rather than events. Umami counts each pageview as one event and each saved event property as another, so a million events buys fewer than a million pageviews. Umami Cloud servers are in the US and the EU with no region promised; Plausible and Pirsch both state EU or German hosting.
  • Traks: You want someone else to run it. There is no hosted service: you deploy and update it yourself in your own Cloudflare account, and the page states no data-retention period.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Umami alternatives · Traks alternatives

6 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionUmamiTraks
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
Kind of free offerFree tierAlways free
What the free plan includesThe Hobby plan: up to 100K events a month, one website, six months of data retention and community support. Self-hosting the open-source app is free as well.The whole product, with no plan tiers or caps from Traks. The only cost is the Cloudflare account it runs in: the page's estimator shows $5/month at 100K events and says 10M Worker requests a month are included before $0.30 per million.
Entry paid plan$20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website.None to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events.
Pricing modelUsage-based on monthly events. Pro is $20 with 1 million events included and $0.00003 per extra event; Business is $200 with 10 million included and $0.00002 per extra event. Each pageview is one event, and each saved event property counts as one more. Going over the limit is billed, not cut off.No subscription. Traks runs in the buyer's own Cloudflare account, so the bill is Cloudflare's usage pricing: a $5/month Workers Paid plan plus metered Worker, Durable Object, Pipelines and R2 usage past the included amounts. The page counts a pageview as about two events.
Limits
Sites or apps includedUp to 20 websites and 10 team members on Pro, the entry paid plan. The free Hobby plan covers one website; Business is unlimited.Not stated as a number. The page describes multi-site support, with sites grouped into workspaces, and shows no site limit.
Observability
Revenue attribution from a payment providerLimited — Revenue sent as event data; no payment-provider connectionLimited — Value sent on a custom event; no payment-provider connection
Self-hostableSupportedSupported
Compliance
Works without cookiesSupportedSupported
GDPR / data residencyUmami Cloud servers are in the US and the EU, and Umami describes the product as GDPR and CCPA compliant. The page does not say which region a given account is placed in.Self-hosted: events are stored in the buyer's own Cloudflare account and bucket rather than on Traks's servers. The page describes the platform as GDPR, ePrivacy and PECR compliant by design.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Kind of free offer

Umami
Free tier
Traks
Always free
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

Umami
The Hobby plan: up to 100K events a month, one website, six months of data retention and community support. Self-hosting the open-source app is free as well.
Traks
The whole product, with no plan tiers or caps from Traks. The only cost is the Cloudflare account it runs in: the page's estimator shows $5/month at 100K events and says 10M Worker requests a month are included before $0.30 per million.
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Umami
$20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website.
Traks
None to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Umami
Usage-based on monthly events. Pro is $20 with 1 million events included and $0.00003 per extra event; Business is $200 with 10 million included and $0.00002 per extra event. Each pageview is one event, and each saved event property counts as one more. Going over the limit is billed, not cut off.
Traks
No subscription. Traks runs in the buyer's own Cloudflare account, so the bill is Cloudflare's usage pricing: a $5/month Workers Paid plan plus metered Worker, Durable Object, Pipelines and R2 usage past the included amounts. The page counts a pageview as about two events.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing – Umami ↗

    “Each website pageview counts as one event. If you save event properties, each data property stored counts as one event. [...] additional events are billed at a per-event rate. Your data collection will not be interrupted and you won't lose any data.”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • Traks: Privacy-friendly web analytics ↗

    “Your Cloudflare bill, not our subscription. [...] A pageview is about two events (the pageview plus its engagement event).”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official site · Report a correction

Sites or apps included

Umami
Up to 20 websites and 10 team members on Pro, the entry paid plan. The free Hobby plan covers one website; Business is unlimited.
Traks
Not stated as a number. The page describes multi-site support, with sites grouped into workspaces, and shows no site limit.
Sources (2) →

GDPR / data residency

Umami
Umami Cloud servers are in the US and the EU, and Umami describes the product as GDPR and CCPA compliant. The page does not say which region a given account is placed in.
Traks
Self-hosted: events are stored in the buyer's own Cloudflare account and bucket rather than on Traks's servers. The page describes the platform as GDPR, ePrivacy and PECR compliant by design.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

AI and search crawler trackingUmami: Not supported — Stated for self-hosted Umami; the Cloud pages do not address bots
Retention windowUmami: Two years of data retention on Pro, the entry paid plan. Hobby keeps six months; Business keeps five years.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Umami or Traks?

Umami: $20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website.

Traks: None to Traks, which is free and open source. Running it costs Cloudflare's usage pricing, paid to Cloudflare: its estimator starts at the $5/month Workers Paid plan, which it says covers millions of events.

Should I choose Umami or Traks?

Pick Umami if A site that wants open-source analytics it can self-host for free or buy as a managed service. Pro is $20 a month for up to 20 websites and two years of data, and the free Hobby plan covers one website and 100K events a month.

Pick Traks if A Cloudflare user who wants to own the whole stack. The software is free and MIT-licensed, deploys into your own account, keeps events in your own bucket and runs on Cloudflare’s $5-a-month Workers plan, with an MCP server for coding agents.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.