Skip to content
inetGeek

Umami vs GoatCounter

OCT 2026 audit

A comparison of Umami and GoatCounter built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 12 criteria compared

The short answer

Choose Umami if…

A site that wants open-source analytics it can self-host for free or buy as a managed service. Pro is $20 a month for up to 20 websites and two years of data, and the free Hobby plan covers one website and 100K events a month.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose GoatCounter if…

A personal site or a small business that wants real analytics and no bill. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage, the script is around 3.5 KB, and there is a JavaScript-free tracking-pixel option.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Umami: You think in pageviews rather than events. Umami counts each pageview as one event and each saved event property as another, so a million events buys fewer than a million pageviews. Umami Cloud servers are in the US and the EU with no region promised; Plausible and Pirsch both state EU or German hosting.
  • GoatCounter: The traffic is serious or the dependency is. There is no paid tier to escalate to and no commitment behind the hosted service — GoatCounter's own answer to heavy use is to self-host, which is a different job from paying someone.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Umami alternatives · GoatCounter alternatives

3 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionUmamiGoatCounter
Pricing
Free tierYesYes
What the free plan includesThe Hobby plan: up to 100K events a month, one website, six months of data retention and community support. Self-hosting the open-source app is free as well.Reasonable public usage, defined by example rather than by number: a personal site or a small-to-medium business is fine, millions of pageviews a day is not.
Entry paid plan$20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website.None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.
Limits
Sites or apps includedUp to 20 websites and 10 team members on Pro, the entry paid plan. The free Hobby plan covers one website; Business is unlimited.Not stated as a number. The hosted service is bounded by what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage rather than by a site count, and the self-hosted app has no such limit at all.
Observability
AI and search crawler trackingNot supported — Stated for self-hosted Umami; the Cloud pages do not address botsNot supported
Self-hostableSupportedSupported
Compliance
Works without cookiesSupportedSupported

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

What the free plan includes

Umami
The Hobby plan: up to 100K events a month, one website, six months of data retention and community support. Self-hosting the open-source app is free as well.
GoatCounter
Reasonable public usage, defined by example rather than by number: a personal site or a small-to-medium business is fine, millions of pageviews a day is not.
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Umami
$20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website.
GoatCounter
None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.
Sources (2) →

Sites or apps included

Umami
Up to 20 websites and 10 team members on Pro, the entry paid plan. The free Hobby plan covers one website; Business is unlimited.
GoatCounter
Not stated as a number. The hosted service is bounded by what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage rather than by a site count, and the self-hosted app has no such limit at all.
Sources (2) →
  • Pricing – Umami ↗

    “Everything in Hobby, plus: 1 million events per month included $0.00003 per additional event Up to 20 websites Up to 10 team members 2 year data retention”

    Read 2026-10-25 · official pricing · Report a correction

  • GoatCounter — open source web analytics ↗

    “GoatCounter.com is currently offered for free for reasonable public usage. Running your personal website or small-to-medium business on it is fine, but sending millions of pageviews/day isn't. You can self-host GoatCounter easily”

    Read 2026-09-15 · official site · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Kind of free offerUmami: Free tier
Pricing modelUmami: Usage-based on monthly events. Pro is $20 with 1 million events included and $0.00003 per extra event; Business is $200 with 10 million included and $0.00002 per extra event. Each pageview is one event, and each saved event property counts as one more. Going over the limit is billed, not cut off.
Revenue attribution from a payment providerUmami: Limited — Revenue sent as event data; no payment-provider connection
Retention windowUmami: Two years of data retention on Pro, the entry paid plan. Hobby keeps six months; Business keeps five years.
GDPR / data residencyUmami: Umami Cloud servers are in the US and the EU, and Umami describes the product as GDPR and CCPA compliant. The page does not say which region a given account is placed in.GoatCounter: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about GoatCounter.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Umami or GoatCounter?

Umami: $20/month for Pro on Umami Cloud: 1 million events a month included, then $0.00003 per additional event, up to 20 websites and 10 team members. A free Hobby plan covers 100K events and one website.

GoatCounter: None. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage and funded by donations; beyond that the answer is to self-host rather than to pay.

Should I choose Umami or GoatCounter?

Pick Umami if A site that wants open-source analytics it can self-host for free or buy as a managed service. Pro is $20 a month for up to 20 websites and two years of data, and the free Hobby plan covers one website and 100K events a month.

Pick GoatCounter if A personal site or a small business that wants real analytics and no bill. The hosted service is free for what GoatCounter calls reasonable public usage, the script is around 3.5 KB, and there is a JavaScript-free tracking-pixel option.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.