Skip to content
inetGeek

AWS Amplify vs Netlify

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of AWS Amplify and Netlify built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 37 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose AWS Amplify if…

Front-end apps deployed from Git onto AWS with usage-based pricing and no monthly minimum, including 1,000 build minutes and 15 GB of transfer under the free tier.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose Netlify if…

Teams that want Git-driven deploys onto a global CDN with a managed Postgres database built into the same platform. The free tier is 300 credits a month with a hard limit, so spend cannot surprise you.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • AWS Amplify: Egress beyond the free allowance is $0.15 per GB, which is the highest of the platforms compared here, and SSR compute is capped at 15 minutes.
  • Netlify: You need to run containers or long-lived processes — Netlify does not document either.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: AWS Amplify alternatives · Netlify alternatives

15 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionAWS AmplifyNetlify
Pricing
Free tier
No
Yes
Kind of free offerIntroductory free tierFree tier
What the free plan includesA free plan chosen at sign-up, available for 6 months after the account is created, alongside up to $200 of AWS Free Tier credits for new customers.300 credits a month at $0, with a hard limit and no automatic recharge.
When the free offer ends6 months after account creation; Free Tier credits expire 12 months after that date.Never — $0/month forever, with a hard limit of 300 credits a month.
Entry paid planNo monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason.$9/month for 1,000 credits/month
Pricing modelUsage-based; pay for what you use, with no monthly minimumMonthly plan credits are included with your plan each billing cycle and reset at the start of each cycle.
Egress over allowance
$0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month.
20 credits per GB ($0.13 per GB)
When you exceed a capBilled automatically: pay-as-you-go with no monthly minimums; storage charges keep recurring until the app is deletedSuspended: when credits run out every project is paused and visitors see a Site not available page, unless auto recharge is configured.
Limits
Sites or apps included
25 apps per Region by default (adjustable via a quota increase request); 50 branches per app
500 projects on the Personal plan (same limit on Free and Pro)
Monthly visits capNo monthly visit cap, but a per-app rate quota of 20,000 request tokens per second (adjustable).No visit cap; web requests are metered at 2 credits per 10,000 requests, covering all traffic to the site including edge functions.
Concurrent builds
5 concurrent jobs per Region by default, adjustable via a quota increase request
Personal: 1 concurrent build included, purchasable up to a maximum of 3, at $40/month per additional build
Max request duration
15 minutes (maximum execution time of an SSR compute execution instance)
60 seconds (synchronous); 30 seconds (scheduled); 15 minutes (background)
Execution
Streaming response limit
Next.js streaming is listed as an unsupported feature of the Amplify Hosting compute SSR provider — i.e. streamed responses are not available at all, rather than bounded by a duration or size. Platform-wide (Amplify Hosting has no plan tiers).
Streaming (non-edge) Functions: 60-second execution limit and 20 MB response size limit. Stated without plan differentiation (applies on the cheapest paid plan).
Deployment
Git deploymentSupportedSupported
Infrastructure
Persistent processesNot supportedNot supported
Edge networkSupportedSupported
Uptime SLA
99.95% monthly uptime per AWS Region for Amplify Console, as a service-credit threshold.
99.99% on Enterprise, which is custom-priced. Free, Personal and Pro publish no uptime SLA.
Support
Support on entry paid plan
No support level comes with the service. AWS Support is bought separately as an account-wide plan, and its response times are graded by case severity rather than by product.
Priority email support from Personal ($9/month), the entry paid plan; 24/7 dedicated support on Enterprise.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

AWS Amplify
No
Netlify
Yes
Sources (2) →

Kind of free offer

AWS Amplify
Introductory free tier
Netlify
Free tier
Sources (2) →

What the free plan includes

AWS Amplify
A free plan chosen at sign-up, available for 6 months after the account is created, alongside up to $200 of AWS Free Tier credits for new customers.
Netlify
300 credits a month at $0, with a hard limit and no automatic recharge.
Sources (2) →

When the free offer ends

AWS Amplify
6 months after account creation; Free Tier credits expire 12 months after that date.
Netlify
Never — $0/month forever, with a hard limit of 300 credits a month.
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

AWS Amplify
No monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason.
Netlify
$9/month for 1,000 credits/month
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

AWS Amplify
Usage-based; pay for what you use, with no monthly minimum
Netlify
Monthly plan credits are included with your plan each billing cycle and reset at the start of each cycle.
Sources (2) →

Egress over allowance

AWS Amplify
$0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month.
Netlify
20 credits per GB ($0.13 per GB)
Sources (2) →

When you exceed a cap

AWS Amplify
Billed automatically: pay-as-you-go with no monthly minimums; storage charges keep recurring until the app is deleted
Netlify
Suspended: when credits run out every project is paused and visitors see a Site not available page, unless auto recharge is configured.
Sources (2) →

Sites or apps included

AWS Amplify

25 apps per Region by default (adjustable via a quota increase request); 50 branches per app

Netlify

500 projects on the Personal plan (same limit on Free and Pro)

Sources (2) →

Monthly visits cap

AWS Amplify
No monthly visit cap, but a per-app rate quota of 20,000 request tokens per second (adjustable).
Netlify
No visit cap; web requests are metered at 2 credits per 10,000 requests, covering all traffic to the site including edge functions.
Sources (2) →

Concurrent builds

AWS Amplify

5 concurrent jobs per Region by default, adjustable via a quota increase request

Netlify

Personal: 1 concurrent build included, purchasable up to a maximum of 3, at $40/month per additional build

Sources (2) →
  • Amplify Hosting service quotas ↗

    “| Concurrent jobs | Each supported Region: 5 | Yes | The maximum number of concurrent jobs that you can create in this account in the current Region. | [...] New AWS accounts have reduced apps and concurrent jobs quotas. AWS raises these quotas automatically based on your usage.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Credit-based pricing plans | Netlify Docs ↗

    “1 concurrent build included in plan with option to purchase more. Limited to 3 concurrent builds, meaning up to 3 builds can run at the same time. Ideal for using multiple agents and running projects that depend on each other. Add 1 additional concurrent build as an add-on at $40/month”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Max request duration

AWS Amplify

15 minutes (maximum execution time of an SSR compute execution instance)

Netlify

60 seconds (synchronous); 30 seconds (scheduled); 15 minutes (background)

Sources (2) →

Streaming response limit

AWS Amplify
Next.js streaming is listed as an unsupported feature of the Amplify Hosting compute SSR provider — i.e. streamed responses are not available at all, rather than bounded by a duration or size. Platform-wide (Amplify Hosting has no plan tiers).
Netlify
Streaming (non-edge) Functions: 60-second execution limit and 20 MB response size limit. Stated without plan differentiation (applies on the cheapest paid plan).
Sources (2) →
  • Amplify support for Next.js ↗

    “Unsupported features Edge API Routes ( Edge middleware is not supported ) On-Demand Incremental Static Regeneration (ISR) Next.js streaming Running middleware on static assets and optimized images”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Functions API reference ↗

    “A function can stream data to clients as it becomes available, instead of returning a buffered payload after the function finishes. To stream a response, return a ReadableStream as the body of the Response. Streaming functions have a 60-second execution limit and a 20 MB response size limit.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

AWS Amplify
99.95% monthly uptime per AWS Region for Amplify Console, as a service-credit threshold.
Netlify
99.99% on Enterprise, which is custom-priced. Free, Personal and Pro publish no uptime SLA.
Sources (2) →

Support on entry paid plan

AWS Amplify
No support level comes with the service. AWS Support is bought separately as an account-wide plan, and its response times are graded by case severity rather than by product.
Netlify
Priority email support from Personal ($9/month), the entry paid plan; 24/7 dedicated support on Enterprise.
Sources (2) →
  • AWS Support Plans ↗

    “human response times business/mission-critical system down production system down production system impaired system impaired general guidance < 30 mins 2 < 1 hour < 4 hours < 12 hours < 24 hours”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official site · Report a correction

  • Netlify Pricing ↗

    “smart secret detection 1-day observability priority email support 1,000 credits / month [...] organization management 24/7 dedicated support”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official pricing · Report a correction

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

Startup credit programAWS Amplify: Via AWS Activate (platform-wide, not Amplify-specific): up to $200,000 in AWS credits to offset infrastructure, data services and AI/ML costs.
Storage (entry plan)AWS Amplify: Pay-as-you-go: no cost up to 5 GB stored on CDN per month, then $0.023 per GB per month. Separately, build artifact size is capped at 5 GB per app.
Memory (entry plan)Netlify: 1024 MB (1 GB) default memory per function; raising it to 4096 MB (4 GB) requires a Credit-based Pro or Enterprise plan.
Included bandwidthAWS Amplify: 15 GB of data transfer out per month at no cost, then $0.15 per GB served.
File, inode or volume limitNetlify: No limit on files per deploy, but a hard limit of 54,000 files per directory (platform-wide)
Build allowanceAWS Amplify: 1,000 build minutes per month at no cost with AWS Free Tier; $0.01 per minute for a Standard Instance thereafter
CPU time limitNetlify: 50 ms of CPU execution time per request for Edge Functions; waiting on resources or responses does not count.
Edge function timeoutNetlify: Response header timeout of 40 s for Edge Functions, alongside the separate 50 ms CPU execution limit.
Scheduled jobsNetlify: Supported
Persistent storageAWS Amplify: Not supported
Managed databasesNetlify: Supported
SOC 2Netlify: AICPA SOC 2 Type 2; enterprise customers can access the attestation in the Trust Center.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
ISO 27001Netlify: Certified; certificate viewable online by all customers.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
HIPAANetlify: Listed among the standards Netlify says it meets through annual third-party audits.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
GDPR / data residencyNetlify: GDPR and CCPA compliance stated, with legal experts engaged to keep products aligned; no data-residency choice is offered on this page.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
PCI DSSNetlify: PCI-compliant for SAQ-A requirements, covering Netlify's own credit-card processing rather than a customer's, with a full RoC assessment completed.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
Encryption at restNetlify: AES-256 at rest and in transit, including access tokens.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
Role-based access controlNetlify: Enterprise Team Management lets admins add and remove users org-wide, and partition teams by role.
Private networking / VPCNetlify: Private Connectivity provides allowlist-friendly IPs for builds and functions to reach a customer backend.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: AWS Amplify or Netlify?

AWS Amplify: No monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason.

Netlify: $9/month for 1,000 credits/month

Free tier: AWS Amplify or Netlify?

AWS Amplify: No

Netlify: Yes

Egress over allowance: AWS Amplify or Netlify?

AWS Amplify: $0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month.

Netlify: 20 credits per GB ($0.13 per GB)

Should I choose AWS Amplify or Netlify?

Pick AWS Amplify if Front-end apps deployed from Git onto AWS with usage-based pricing and no monthly minimum, including 1,000 build minutes and 15 GB of transfer under the free tier.

Pick Netlify if Teams that want Git-driven deploys onto a global CDN with a managed Postgres database built into the same platform. The free tier is 300 credits a month with a hard limit, so spend cannot surprise you.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.