Skip to content
inetGeek

Vercel vs AWS Amplify

SEPT 2026 audit

A comparison of Vercel and AWS Amplify built from values read directly from each provider's own documentation, with the source recorded against every figure.

Reviewed by Palash BagchiUpdated 40 criteria comparedSources last checked

The short answer

Choose Vercel if…

Teams building on a framework the CDN understands natively, who want a predictable per-seat cost with metered usage on top. The Git integration covers GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, so it drops into an existing review workflow.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Choose AWS Amplify if…

Front-end apps deployed from Git onto AWS with usage-based pricing and no monthly minimum, including 1,000 build minutes and 15 GB of transfer under the free tier.

Editorial · Palash Bagchi · approved

Consider something else if…

  • Vercel: The team is large enough that $20 per developer seat dominates the bill rather than the metered usage underneath it.
  • AWS Amplify: Egress beyond the free allowance is $0.15 per GB, which is the highest of the platforms compared here, and SSR compute is capped at 15 minutes.

Neither quite fits? Every other option, ranked by iScore: Vercel alternatives · AWS Amplify alternatives

14 sourced criteria separate them — see where, with sources, below.

No affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid rankings appear on this site. Ordering follows the sourced data and the stated criteria.

01.

At a glance.

CriterionVercelAWS Amplify
Pricing
Free tier
Yes
No
Kind of free offerFree tierIntroductory free tier
Entry paid plan$20 per developer seat / month (Pro)No monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason.
Pricing modelPer-seat subscription plus metered resource usage; CDN charges cover requests, data transfer to visitors and Fast Origin Transfer, and vary by the region a request comes from.Usage-based; pay for what you use, with no monthly minimum
Egress over allowanceFast Data Transfer: first 1 TB included, then $0.15-$0.35 per GB depending on region.$0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month.
When you exceed a capBilled automatically: extra usage beyond the included amount or Pro credit is charged, not throttled or suspendedBilled automatically: pay-as-you-go with no monthly minimums; storage charges keep recurring until the app is deleted
Startup credit programVercel for Startups: up to $30,000 in Flexible Commitment Amount, Enterprise-tier access, and startup-focused support for eligible teams.Via AWS Activate (platform-wide, not Amplify-specific): up to $200,000 in AWS credits to offset infrastructure, data services and AI/ML costs.
Limits
Sites or apps included
200 projects on Hobby; unlimited on Pro and Enterprise.
25 apps per Region by default (adjustable via a quota increase request); 50 branches per app
Monthly visits capNo hard visit cap on Pro. Pro includes the first 10,000,000 Edge Requests and the first 1 TB of Fast Data Transfer, with additional consumption billed on demand.No monthly visit cap, but a per-app rate quota of 20,000 request tokens per second (adjustable).
Build allowanceNo monthly build-minute allowance. Build CPU minutes are billed from $0.0035 each on Pro, against the plan's usage credit, and any single build is capped at 45 minutes.1,000 build minutes per month at no cost with AWS Free Tier; $0.01 per minute for a Standard Instance thereafter
Concurrent buildsPro: up to 500 concurrent deployments with on-demand concurrency, or 3 if on-demand concurrency is off5 concurrent jobs per Region by default, adjustable via a quota increase request
Max request durationHobby: 300s default and maximum. Pro and Enterprise: 300s default, 800s maximum, and 1800s extended maximum15 minutes (maximum execution time of an SSR compute execution instance)
Execution
Streaming response limit
Edge runtime streaming: up to 300 seconds, provided the response starts within 25 seconds. For Node.js/Bun/Python runtimes the docs state that max duration covers streamed responses too (Pro: 300s default, 800s maximum). Not plan-differentiated for the Edge figure.
Next.js streaming is listed as an unsupported feature of the Amplify Hosting compute SSR provider — i.e. streamed responses are not available at all, rather than bounded by a duration or size. Platform-wide (Amplify Hosting has no plan tiers).
Deployment
Git deploymentSupportedSupported
Infrastructure
Edge networkSupportedSupported
Uptime SLA
99.99% on Enterprise, which is custom-priced. Hobby and Pro publish no uptime SLA.
99.95% monthly uptime per AWS Region for Amplify Console, as a service-credit threshold.

Only criteria both providers publish appear here; a tinted cell marks a real difference. Criteria only one of them documents are listed below, and an absence there means we found no source — not that the feature is missing. How we source this.

The small bar above a value is inetGeek's own lean toward that side — computed from the same facts shown, never a number the provider published. See the picker below "The short answer" to weigh only the criteria you care about.

02.

Where they differ.

Free tier

Vercel
Yes
AWS Amplify
No
Sources (2) →

Kind of free offer

Vercel
Free tier
AWS Amplify
Introductory free tier
Sources (2) →

Entry paid plan

Vercel
$20 per developer seat / month (Pro)
AWS Amplify
No monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason.
Sources (2) →

Pricing model

Vercel
Per-seat subscription plus metered resource usage; CDN charges cover requests, data transfer to visitors and Fast Origin Transfer, and vary by the region a request comes from.
AWS Amplify
Usage-based; pay for what you use, with no monthly minimum
Sources (2) →

Egress over allowance

Vercel
Fast Data Transfer: first 1 TB included, then $0.15-$0.35 per GB depending on region.
AWS Amplify
$0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month.
Sources (2) →
  • Regional pricing — Vercel Docs ↗

    “Resource Included (Billing Cycle) On-demand (Billing Cycle) Fast Data Transfer First 1 TB 1 GB for $0.15 - $0.35 Edge Requests First 10,000,000 1,000,000 Requests for $2.00 - $3.20”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • AWS Amplify Pricing ↗

    “Data transfer out No cost up to 15 GB per month $0.15 per GB served Request count (SSR) No cost up to 500,000 requests per month $0.30 per 1 million”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

When you exceed a cap

Vercel
Billed automatically: extra usage beyond the included amount or Pro credit is charged, not throttled or suspended
AWS Amplify
Billed automatically: pay-as-you-go with no monthly minimums; storage charges keep recurring until the app is deleted
Sources (2) →

Startup credit program

Vercel
Vercel for Startups: up to $30,000 in Flexible Commitment Amount, Enterprise-tier access, and startup-focused support for eligible teams.
AWS Amplify
Via AWS Activate (platform-wide, not Amplify-specific): up to $200,000 in AWS credits to offset infrastructure, data services and AI/ML costs.
Sources (2) →
  • Vercel for Startups ↗

    “Vercel for Startups gives eligible teams up to $30,000 in Flexible Commitment Amount, Enterprise-tier access, and startup-focused support to build and scale on Vercel.”

    Read 2026-09-11 · official site · Report a correction

  • AWS Activate ↗

    “Apply to receive up to $200,000 in AWS Activate Credits to offset costs on infrastructure, data services, and AI/ML models.”

    Read 2026-09-11 · official site · Report a correction

Sites or apps included

Vercel

200 projects on Hobby; unlimited on Pro and Enterprise.

AWS Amplify

25 apps per Region by default (adjustable via a quota increase request); 50 branches per app

Sources (2) →
  • Limits — Vercel Docs ↗

    “Hobby Pro Enterprise Projects 200 Unlimited Unlimited Deployments Created per Day 100 6000”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Amplify Hosting service quotas ↗

    “Name Default Adjustable Description Apps Each supported Region: 25 Yes The maximum number of apps that you can create in AWS Amplify Console in this account in the current Region. Branches per app Each supported Region: 50 No”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

Monthly visits cap

Vercel
No hard visit cap on Pro. Pro includes the first 10,000,000 Edge Requests and the first 1 TB of Fast Data Transfer, with additional consumption billed on demand.
AWS Amplify
No monthly visit cap, but a per-app rate quota of 20,000 request tokens per second (adjustable).
Sources (2) →
  • Limits ↗

    “Pro includes a credit that you can use across billable resources and a pay-as-you-go model for additional consumption. Vercel automatically charges extra usage at the following rates: [...] Fast Data Transfer 100 GB 1 TB [...] "resource":"Edge Requests" [...] "includedProAllotment":"First 10,000,000","includedHobbyAllotment":"First 1,000,000"”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Quotas for Amplify Hosting ↗

    “Request tokens per second Each supported Region: 20,000 Yes The maximum number of request tokens per second for an app.”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official docs · Report a correction

Build allowance

Vercel
No monthly build-minute allowance. Build CPU minutes are billed from $0.0035 each on Pro, against the plan's usage credit, and any single build is capped at 45 minutes.
AWS Amplify
1,000 build minutes per month at no cost with AWS Free Tier; $0.01 per minute for a Standard Instance thereafter
Sources (2) →
  • Limits — Vercel docs ↗

    “Build Time per Deployment (Minutes) 45 45 45 [...] Build CPU Minutes Starting at $0.0035 per CPU Minute [...] The maximum duration of the Build Step is 45 minutes. When the limit is reached, the Build Step will be interrupted and the Deployment will fail.”

    Read 2026-09-06 · official docs · Report a correction

  • AWS Amplify Pricing ↗

    “Build and deploy Standard Instance (8 GB Memory; 4 vCPUs) No cost up to 1,000 build minutes per month $0.01 per minute Large Instance (16 GB Memory; 8 vCPUs) n/a $0.025 per minute”

    Read 2026-09-13 · official pricing · Report a correction

Concurrent builds

Vercel
Pro: up to 500 concurrent deployments with on-demand concurrency, or 3 if on-demand concurrency is off
AWS Amplify
5 concurrent jobs per Region by default, adjustable via a quota increase request
Sources (2) →
  • Managing builds — Vercel Docs ↗

    “Concurrency limits by plan Hobby: 1 concurrent deployment. Builds beyond this run sequentially. Pro: Up to 500 concurrent deployments with on-demand concurrency (3 if on demand is off). You are billed for the build minutes you use. Enterprise: Custom concurrency limits tailored to your organization's needs.”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Amplify Hosting service quotas ↗

    “| Concurrent jobs | Each supported Region: 5 | Yes | The maximum number of concurrent jobs that you can create in this account in the current Region. | [...] New AWS accounts have reduced apps and concurrent jobs quotas. AWS raises these quotas automatically based on your usage.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

Max request duration

Vercel
Hobby: 300s default and maximum. Pro and Enterprise: 300s default, 800s maximum, and 1800s extended maximum
AWS Amplify
15 minutes (maximum execution time of an SSR compute execution instance)
Sources (2) →

Streaming response limit

Vercel
Edge runtime streaming: up to 300 seconds, provided the response starts within 25 seconds. For Node.js/Bun/Python runtimes the docs state that max duration covers streamed responses too (Pro: 300s default, 800s maximum). Not plan-differentiated for the Edge figure.
AWS Amplify
Next.js streaming is listed as an unsupported feature of the Amplify Hosting compute SSR provider — i.e. streamed responses are not available at all, rather than bounded by a duration or size. Platform-wide (Amplify Hosting has no plan tiers).
Sources (2) →
  • Vercel Functions Limits ↗

    “Vercel Functions using the Edge runtime must begin sending a response within 25 seconds to maintain streaming capabilities beyond this period, and can continue streaming data for up to 300 seconds.”

    Read 2026-09-05 · official docs · Report a correction

  • Amplify support for Next.js ↗

    “Unsupported features Edge API Routes ( Edge middleware is not supported ) On-Demand Incremental Static Regeneration (ISR) Next.js streaming Running middleware on static assets and optimized images”

    Read 2026-09-14 · official docs · Report a correction

Uptime SLA

Vercel
99.99% on Enterprise, which is custom-priced. Hobby and Pro publish no uptime SLA.
AWS Amplify
99.95% monthly uptime per AWS Region for Amplify Console, as a service-credit threshold.
Sources (2) →

When these numbers change, hear about it. Sources are re-checked monthly; a repricing goes out as a short note.

Confirm by email; unsubscribe from any issue. Your address goes to Kit and nowhere else — what we do with it.

03.

Documented by only one.

These criteria are published by one provider and not the other. An absence here means we have not found a source, not that the feature is missing — except where we say we read the other provider's own page on a given date and it does not state it. Those rows lean, and the provider can correct them with a link.

What the free plan includesAWS Amplify: A free plan chosen at sign-up, available for 6 months after the account is created, alongside up to $200 of AWS Free Tier credits for new customers.
When the free offer endsAWS Amplify: 6 months after account creation; Free Tier credits expire 12 months after that date.
Storage (entry plan)AWS Amplify: Pay-as-you-go: no cost up to 5 GB stored on CDN per month, then $0.023 per GB per month. Separately, build artifact size is capped at 5 GB per app.
Memory (entry plan)Vercel: 2 GB and 1 vCPU by default on every plan; Pro and Enterprise can raise it to 4 GB and 2 vCPU.
Included bandwidthAWS Amplify: 15 GB of data transfer out per month at no cost, then $0.15 per GB served.
File, inode or volume limitVercel: 15,000 source files per CLI deployment (platform-wide); no upper limit on output files created during a build
Edge function timeoutVercel: Edge runtime: a response must begin within 25 seconds to keep streaming beyond that point, and streaming can then continue for up to 300 seconds.
Managed connection poolingVercel: Limited
Scheduled jobsVercel: Supported
Persistent processesAWS Amplify: Not supported
Persistent storageAWS Amplify: Not supported
Scales to zeroVercel: Supported
AutoscalingVercel: Supported
RegionsVercel: 20 compute-capable regions, from Stockholm and Mumbai to Cleveland and Cape Town; functions default to iad1 (Washington, D.C.).
Points of presenceVercel: 126 points of presence across 51 countries.
Support on entry paid planAWS Amplify: No support level comes with the service. AWS Support is bought separately as an account-wide plan, and its response times are graded by case severity rather than by product.
SOC 2Vercel: SOC 2 Type 2 attestation.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
ISO 27001Vercel: ISO 27001:2013 certified.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
HIPAAVercel: HIPAA compliance supported for enterprise customers.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
GDPR / data residencyVercel: No data stored permanently inside EU regions; static assets/Serverless Function responses may cache in EU regions but only ephemerally.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
PCI DSSVercel: Attestations for both service providers (SAQ-D) and merchants (SAQ-A) under PCI DSS v4.0, on request.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
Encryption at restVercel: AES-256 at rest and HTTPS/TLS in transit, including access tokens and secrets.AWS Amplify: not stated on its own page when read on 2026-09-21 — corrections welcome · every such claim about AWS Amplify.
Role-based access controlVercel: Role-based access control, assigning roles per project.
Dedicated infrastructureVercel: Enterprise teams get their own build infrastructure, isolated from Hobby and Pro accounts.
04.

Questions this comparison answers.

Entry paid plan: Vercel or AWS Amplify?

Vercel: $20 per developer seat / month (Pro)

AWS Amplify: No monthly minimum — Amplify Hosting is billed per unit. A representative month for one small app, priced at Amplify's published rates: 100 build minutes ($1.00), 5 GB stored ($0.11), 100 GB served ($15.00), with SSR requests inside the free 500,000 — about $16.11. Our arithmetic on Amplify's rates, not a price Amplify quotes, and it moves with traffic: egress is 93% of it. Recorded without a magnitude for that reason.

Free tier: Vercel or AWS Amplify?

Vercel: Yes

AWS Amplify: No

Egress over allowance: Vercel or AWS Amplify?

Vercel: Fast Data Transfer: first 1 TB included, then $0.15-$0.35 per GB depending on region.

AWS Amplify: $0.15 per GB served, after the first 15 GB a month.

Should I choose Vercel or AWS Amplify?

Pick Vercel if Teams building on a framework the CDN understands natively, who want a predictable per-seat cost with metered usage on top. The Git integration covers GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, so it drops into an existing review workflow.

Pick AWS Amplify if Front-end apps deployed from Git onto AWS with usage-based pricing and no monthly minimum, including 1,000 build minutes and 15 GB of transfer under the free tier.

Provider pages

Related comparisons

Comments

Every page here is sourced and dated.